And the Nominees for the CEA's Are...

Nominations for the 17th Annual Cincinnati Entertainment Awards (CEAs) were announced today by CityBeat.  Nominees were determined by a committee of dozens of Greater Cincinnati music experts. This year’s list again reflects the talented community of music makers across various genres who create and perform their art in Cincinnati. 

This year’s class of nominees includes numerous artists receiving their first CEA nods. Rising Hip Hop artist Lantana, who records for major-label distributed Polo Grounds Music (home to releases by A$AP Rocky, Yo Gotti and Pitbull), notched his first two nominations, in the Hip Hop and Artist of the Year categories, while the buzzed-about Noise Pop/Punk band Tweens (which is currently readying its debut for respected indie label, Frenchkiss Records) earned a pair of nominations, including one for New Artist of the Year. Other artists receiving CEA nominations for the first time include Country/Pop singer/songwriter Tana Matz, Hip Hop-tinged Reggae band Elementree Livity Project, Hard Rock crew Moonbow (featuring an ex-Afghan Whig and ex-Survivor cast member), soulful singer/songwriter Austin Livingood, Alternative Pop/Rock band Archer’s Paradox, Soul Rock group Black Pharaoh and ambitious, conceptual songwriter Allan Pray.

Last year’s New Artist of the Year CEA winner DAAP Girls notched a record 5 nominations overall this year, scoring nods for Artist and Album of the Year, as well as in the Indie/Alternative, Best Live Act and Best Music Video categories.

Music fans can begin voting for their favorite bands and musicians starting at noon Friday, December 13 via a ballot located on CityBeat’s website

Fan votes determine winners in 16 categories, while the CEA nominating committee will determine the winners in the “critical achievement” categories — Album of the Year, New Artist of the Year and Artist of the Year.

In response to the explosion of higher quality music videos from artists without huge budgets, the CEAs will, for the first time, feature a “Best Music Video” category. The 10 clips will be posted on the ballot so voters can watch each before they make a selection.

The annual celebration of Greater Cincinnati’s rich music scene, the Cincinnati Entertainment Awards (CEAs), presented by long-time sponsor Dewey’s Pizza, returns for its 17th year on Jan. 26 at Covington’s Madison Theater. Tickets will go on sale Friday, December 20 with proceeds benefitting the Greater Cincinnati USA Music Heritage Foundation.

Voting begins at noon Friday, December 13

 The 2014 Cincinnati Entertainment Awards nominees:

Comet Bluegrass All-Stars
Hickory Robot
Kentucky Timbre
Lawson Family Reunion
Ma Crow and the Lady Slippers
Rumpke Mountain Boys 

Dallas Moore Band
Sassy Molasses
Tana Matz
Red Beard’s Revenge
Jeremy Pinnell and the 55’s
Honey & Houston 

Magnolia Mountain
The Hiders
The Happy Maladies
Ben Knight & the Welldiggers
The Tillers
Shiny and the Spoon 

World Music/Reggae
Milton Blake
The Cliftones
Baoku and the Image Afrobeat Band
The Pinstripes
Elementree Livity Project 

Lemon Sky
Ohio Knife
Pop Goes the Evil
Electric Citizen
The Kickaways
The Upset Victory 

Metal/Hard Rock
Grey Host
Valley of the Sun
Eyes on Tomorrow
Mary Cries Red

Molly Sullivan
Austin Livingood
Mark Utley
Kelly Thomas
Margaret Darling
Kim Taylor 

Archer’s Paradox
Bad Veins
DAAP Girls
Fists of Love
The Yugos 

Punk/Pop Punk
The Dopamines

The Whiskey Shambles
Ricky Nye
Kelly Richey Band
The Juice
Scotty Bratcher
Ralph & the Rhythm Hounds 

Natural Progression
The Cincy Brass
Jameze Latrail
The Perfect Children
The Almighty Get Down
Black Pharaoh 

Animal Mother
Samba Jazz Syndicate
The Qtet
The Faux Frenchmen
Brent Gallaher 

Hip Hop
MC Forty
Buggs Tha Rocka
Valley High
Trademark Aaron 

Black Signal
Dark Colour
Playfully Yours
Skeleton Hands
Firecat 451 

Best Live Act
The Perfect Children
The Happy Maladies
Foxy Shazam
The Pinstripes
DAAP Girls

Best Music Video
"Man I Killed" - Black Pharaoh

“Molly” – DAAP Girls

“Melloncamp” – Culture Queer

“Every Cloud In It” – Lantana

“Bell and a Basket” – Mia Carruthers

“Kindness” - Bad Veins

“8 Ball” – Valley High

“Fake Blood” – The Kickaways

“Faith” – Trademark Aaron

“The End of Time” - Moonbow

Critical Achievement Awards:

Album Of The Year
Over the RhineMeet Me at the Edge of the World
Allan PrayRace: The Portrait of a Town
The Frankl Project - Standards 
Various Artists - Music for the Mountains 2: A Benefit to Stop Mountaintop Removal Coal Mining
MoonbowThe End of Time
The TillersHand on the Plow
DAAP GirlsTape Songs
Fists of LoveI Sang My Heart Out to a Snake Once 

New Artist Of the Year
Electric Citizen
Archer’s Paradox
Pop Goes the Evil
Austin Livingood 

Artist Of The Year
The Tillers
Walk the Moon
Kim Taylor
DAAP Girls
Mad Anthony