Moose Gronholm's Profile

Moose Gronholm

Moose is originally from Chicago. The river's howl and the string band music brought him here via steel horse known as a Ford Taurus in 2011. He found the pen and word before he could play a note on a guitar. He experiences life and writes about it. See the country and of its wondrous places. Those are his two mottos. He loves Whitman, Thoreau, Emerson, and Kerouac, Shakespeare, Dr. Seuss, Alcott, and Atwood. That's Moose, a simple dude who loves music and writing, and his family.

  • Feature

Quarantunes: Via Moose

While we have all been dealing with our quarantine however we have been dealing with it. Some of us have had to still work, and some are not and are at home trying to figure out if that table really needs to be cleaned again, I mean it’s been an hour? Music has been there for us. To keep us sane amidst a pandemic the likes of which we have never seen before.

  • Review

Album Review: Migration Stories - M. Ward

Few artists have been more captivating, for me, than M. Ward. A bunch of years ago I saw him on a VHS tape that had his Austin City Limits guest appearance on it. He played on a few songs with Bright Eyes / Conor Oberst. I had never heard anything like that before and being under the influence of some things I made sure to make a mental note of this guy’s name: M. Ward.

  • Review

Album Review: Square One - Payzant

Late in 2019 I was roaming through Instagram when I came upon a picture from my tattoo artist and his wife. They were proud of their son and stepson respectively Jacob Payzant for releasing his first album. So, I did what any music lover does in this situation, and I went looking for it, found it, and listened to it.

  • Feature

Remembering John Prine

John Prine soon became a part of my musical family. My brother and I would sit out on our back porch or take a drive somewhere, and the soundtrack was John. It's not easy putting this all into words. Because when someone like John Prine loses the fight it makes the world a little less bright.

  • Review

Album Review: Sunrise - Highly Likely

Highly Likely are a super group of sorts. Five people from different bands converging into one folky bluegrassy super group. The members are: Andy Tracy (percussion, harmonica, vocals formerly of Blue Caboose), Brian Bowling (banjo and member of Twig&leaf), Char Bowling (guitar, vocals, and also of Twig&Leaf), Jeff Roades (bass, vocals, and a troubadour), and Mark Miller (mandolin, vocals).

  • Review

Album Review: Clockwork Radio - Josh Eagle & the Harvest City

Somewhere lost in a sea of thoughts and feelings I put on the latest Josh Eagle record and drifted off to some place only left in my dreams. It was comforting. The record was calming. The electricity eased my weary mind. The gravel in Josh’s throat was soothing. The album felt like a meditation. I’m no Buddhist, nor do I pretend to be one, but the listening experience of this felt something akin to a moment of Zen. My mind travelled to all kinds of places. The song “I’ll Be There for You” brought me out to the desert and its winds. "Hallow’s Eve" brought me to the fall and dropped me into some New York City neighborhood.

  • Review

Album Review: Out From Under – Erin Coburn

Erin Coburn has done it again. She dropped her third album late last year and I couldn’t wait to hear what this woman came up with next. Low and behold I was pleasantly surprised. Erin for a long time had toured and recorded with John Redell and Dixon Creasey, however on this album she departs from the power trio and brings forth something even more powerful.

  • Feature

A Not Top Ten List: Moose’s favorites from 2019

In the year that is set up to be over in a couple weeks, 2019, music saw a lot of great albums come out. So I will preface this by saying that I’m sure there are a few that I missed but really liked as well. The list below isn’t a top ten, I am not a fan of those, I think they are boring and overplayed. The list below is simply a compilation, if you will, of albums that I enjoyed from this year that has seemingly flown by. 

  • Review

Album Review: Freaks: Frontier Folk Nebraska

Frontier Folk Nebraska (FFN), are comprised of four guys. Four guys that bring a brand of rock n’ roll that is a hodge-podge of so many styles that they make it sound easy. FREAKS is their latest recorded album that came out on Black Friday, and before that I had the pleasure of listening to it early and often. 

  • Review

Review: OK, I Feel Better Now - Kelly Hoppenjans

Kelly Hoppenjans is currently residing in Nashville making her way in the vibrant music scene there. She has released her third album “Ok, I Feel Better Now” a sort of coming of age album with a hint of I’m doing this my way sprinkled in. Within the ten tracks she outlines what she sees as a human being walking this world, as well as, being a woman in the entertainment industry. 

  • Review

Review: Six Feet of Earth: Mike Oberst

It is the title track for me that truly encapsulates many feelings we have going on right now. “Six Feet of Earth” is a song that to sum it up simply means that in the end it does not matter how rich or how poor you are. As we are all the same under six feet of earth. 

  • Review
  • News

Album Review: The Raconteurs - Help Us Stranger

Separation only makes the heart grow fonder, or however that saying goes and these four dudes in forty-one minutes proved that.