• Review
  • News

Perfume Genius Drops IMMEDIATELY Remixes

Photo Cred: Camille Vivier

Michael Alden Hadreas, or better known as his stage name, Perfume Genius, released a remix of his fifth studio album Friday, February 19th.

IMMEDIATELY Remixes is a companion album to Set My Heart On Fire Immediately (released in 2020). The album features 13 remixes with different artists such as A.G. Cook, electric pop-duo Boy Harsher, Danny L. Harle, Initial Talk, Jaako Eino Kalevi, Janny Hval, Jim-E Stack, Katie Dey, Koreless Nidia, Planningtorock, and Westerman.

"I'm very honored to have all these incredible musicians rework these songs," Hadreas said. "I felt personally remixed listening to their versions, hearing the spirit of my song completely transformed was very magical. Each one feels like a little portal to a fucked up shared world."

Hadreas gave us a taste of the album in January by releasing, "Your Body Changes Everything," remixed by Boy Harsher. The track is a total transformation from a slower modern indie-pop song to an 80s synth-dance track.

Augustus Muller of Boy Harsher says that the original "Your Body Changes Everything" track reminded him of the Walker Brothers. “…I focused on that vibe when picking sounds, while attempting to honor the initial feelings of lust and desire.”

The video, directed by Boy Harsher vocalist Jae Matthews and Caitlin Driscoll, shows man haunted by an alien who can only reach him through his T.V. set.

"For the video, I wanted to create something that reflected my feelings of disconnect," Matthews said. "Summer during Covid was complex - everyone was locked down but so desperately wanted out. Screens and distance became the norm for casual interaction. Inspired by David Cronenberg's Videodrome (1983) and Tobe Hooper's Poltergeist (1982), I developed this idea where a man (Brandon Gray) becomes haunted by a beautiful alien (Teddy Quinlivan)- who can only access him through his television set. Long live the new flesh!"

"Luckily, Quinlivan was eager to participate from the very start and was a perfect cast for the flawless extraterrestrial. The desire within the video - the man wanting this cosmic babe so bad - matches the tone of the remix, especially during the sequences where she asks, 'Can you feel my love?’ through the static on the TV."

"Your Body Changes Everything" remix sets the tone for the experimental synth-pop album. Each track on the album has a different personality that takes the audience on a trance through the dynamic styles of the synth-pop music in a beautifully blended lyrical composition.

The waltz-like feel of "One More Try," the 80s synth-funk of "On the Floor," and the "operatic acid-rave" of "Just a Touch" are examples of tracks on an album that officials say, "is an endlessly surprising, imaginative and replayable set to match its source material."

Fans who want to experience this dynamic tracklist can purchase the album via Matador Records.

IMMEDIATELY Remixes tracklist:

  1. Whole Life (Jaakko Eino Kalevi Remix)
  2. Describe (A.G. Cook Remix)
  3. Without You (Jim-E Stack Remix)
  4. Jason (Planningtorock 'Jason there's no rush' remix)
  5. Leave (Jenny Hval Remix)
  6. On the Floor (Initial Talk Remix)
  7. Your Body Changes Everything (Boy Harsher Remix)
  8. Moonbend (Nídia Remix)
  9. Just a Touch (Danny L Harle Remix)
  10. Nothing at All (Westerman Rework)
  11. One More Try (Actress Remix)
  12. Some Dream (Koreless Remix)
  13. Borrowed Light (Katie Dey Remix)