• Review

Review: Phantogram

Photo By Travis Brandner

Last night Phantogram played a very energetic show to a sold out crowd at Bogart’s. As I was watching the crew set up the stage I knew that this would be a Cincinnati show to remember. This tour Phantogram has put a lot of extra time and effort into the stage and lighting setups. In the 12 years I have been going to Bogart’s I have not seen any band with such a large platform on stage. Sarah Barthel and Josh Carter took turns going to the second floor of their platform during the performance, and it gave the whole set a very larger than life feel. Last night was an epic stadium show squeezed onto the Bogarts Stage.

Check out pics from the show HERE!

The set contained their hit popular hit songs “When I’m Small”, “Fall In Love”, “Black Out Days” and after two encores it concluded with their most recent single, “You Don’t Get Me High Any More.” Sarah is much more than she appears in her music videos. Not only was her vocal performance amazing, but she also played guitar, bass, synth and keys with a very energetic stage presence. Josh also had his time in the spotlight as he has songs that are focused entirely around his singing and guitars while Sarah is in the background. It is that kind of teamwork and chemistry that makes Phantogram such a great live band. Their music stands out with other great male/female duos such as Crystal Castles, Sleigh Bells, Matt and Kim and Purity Ring.

I am very thankful to have such a great concert venue like Bogart’s in Cincinnati. The first show I went there was in 2005, and you can really tell how much this venue has improved in the past 12 years. The Phantogram crowd was very diverse and everyone seemed to have a wonderful experience. It is not quite festival season yet, but Bogart’s delivers the hype worthy performances all year long. The shows there really make you forget about whatever is going on in your life and puts you into that festival feeling at an underground setting. It’s for this reason that Bogart’s is my favorite concert venue in Cincinnati.


Congratulations to Phantogram on selling out in Cincinnati, and good Luck on the rest of the tour.


1. You're Mine
2. Same Old Blues
3. Turning Into Stone
4. Don't Move
5. Black Out Days
6. Run Run Blood
7. Mouthful of Diamonds
8. Answer
9. Destroyer
10. Bad Dreams
11. Calling All
12. Howling at the Moon
13. Fall in Love
14. When I'm Small
Barking Dog
Cruel World
You Don't Get Me High Anymore