Show Details

Prokofiev + Beethoven

  • Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
  • Karen Gomyo

PIERRE JALBERT: World Premiere
PROKOFIEV: Violin Concerto No. 1
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 4

We continue to glimpse Beethoven’s influence on the future of music through the prism of this multi-year symphony cycle. Beethoven’s Symphony No. 4, a work of infectious joy, will get a modern-day response in a world premiere commission by Pierre Jalbert. Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 1 inspires the imagination of the listener, and features Karen Gomyo, a violinist of “real musical command, vitality, brilliance and intensity” (Chicago Tribune).