• Review

Album Review: Chris From Space Alternate Dimension

It is not often, through the course of listening to submissions to review, that I am genuinely struck by the sheer audacity of a recording, when a band or artist decides not only to throw out the formula, but to rewrite the mathematics altogether. That was what I was faced when listening to Alternate Dimension, the new album of remixes from Chris From Space.

To be clear, Dimension is not easy listening. From beginning to end, it demands your attention and your heads-up involvement. But if you agree to go along for the ride, you find some pretty infectious grooves, memorable hooks, and to be frank, a fun, quirky trip steeped in some pretty esoteric, deep-cut electronic music history.

Dimension sounds a bit like what I imagine Autobahn’s Nagelbett would have sounded like (were it a real album from a real band), but where Autobahn would have zigged into heavy, sinister krautrock, Chris From Space zags and goes where the music takes him.

For fans of Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream’s The Dream Mixes, or Pink Floyd’s Ummagumma, if you’re looking for something way out there that still has a good beat, check out Alternate Dimension.

Alternate Dimension will be released on February 1st. Go get a free Chris From Space shirt with your pre-orders for the album at chrisfromspace.com.


1)   Astroid Girl – Remix

2)   I Met A Martian – Remix

3)   I’m Fading Away – Remix

4)   From Within – Remix

5)   Super Mega Turbo Chick – Remix

6)   Happenstance Circumstance – Remix

7)   Lost Time – Remix

8)   Evacuate The Planet – Remix

9)   Ride The Sky – Remix

10) Deja Vu – Remix