“MusicNOW- 10 Years” Album to Celebrate 10 YEARS OF MusicNOW

Rubato Photo

Founded in 2006 by Bryce Dessner of The National, MusicNOW Festival set out with a mission to present the best in contemporary music, offer artists an opportunity to take risks and commission new work. This year MusicNOW will celebrate its 10th year of innovative artistic collaborations from March 11-15. To celebrate the occasion, MusicNOW- 10 Years will allow listeners to share some of the magical moments that the festival is known for creating. 

The 16 track album highlights festival-only surprises like Robin Pecknold playing the traditional song "Silver Dagger" for the first time, the debut performance of Grizzly Bear's "While You Wait for the Others", the premiere of Sufjan Stevens' "The Owl & The Tanager", as well as collaborations featuring Owen Pallett, Justin Vernon, Sharon van Etten, Tinariwen and Dirty Projectors. The digital release date is March 10th via Brassland and pre-orders for physical formats will begin on Tuesday, March 17th at bit.ly/musicnow10.

"Many of my most significant memories as a musician have taken place in Cincinnati during the MusicNOW Festival over the last 10 years, " says founder Bryce Dessner. "When we started, we were driven to create an intimate music festival that was as much a creative refuge for the artists as it is for the audience to partake in intimate and rare performances. We have celebrated works in progress and new commissions, new collaborations and detailed music of all kinds regardless of genre or popularity. " 

This year's MusicNOW festival will take place on March 11-15. For the full schedule and more details visit http://www.musicnowfestival.org

MusicNOW - 10 Years - TRACK LISTING 

Sounds of the South "Trials, Troubles, Tribulations"

Robin Pecknold "Silver Dagger"

Sufjan Stevens "The Owl & The Tanager"

eighth blackbird "Omie Wise"

My Brightest Diamond "I Have Never Loved Someone"

Dirty Projectors "Emblem Of The World"

Tinariwen "Imidiwan Ma Tenam"

Tim Hecker "Chimeras (Live) 2011"

Colin Stetson "Nobu Take"

Owen Pallett "E Is For Estranged"

Erik Friedlander "Airstream Envy"

Bonnie 'Prince' Billy "Love Comes to Me"

Grizzly Bear "While You Wait For The Others"

The Books with Clogs "Classy Penguin"

Andrew Bird "Section 8 City"

Justin Vernon "Love More"