CincyMusic Podcasts
Buy the Cincinnati Support Local Music Tee

David Faul Band

From the rustbelt of the American Midwest the David Faul Band delivers a unique blend of americana, grease-folk infused artistry. Deeply rooted for generations along the banks of the Ohio river the David Faul Band (Cincinnati, Ohio) is an acoustic trio led by singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist David Faul and includes Ben Knight (Ben Knight and The Welldiggers) on lead guitar, banjo, harmony vocals and upright bass by Jonathan Doll/Elia Burkhart. A seasoned song-writer,  David's writing has been described as deeply thought-provoking, honest and personal. David writes about what he knows best; family, music, love, loss and addiction. Beyond the lyrics it's his musical arrangement's that set the band apart from traditional bluegrass, country and mainstream acts. This is in part due to David's lifelong commitment to multiple genres of music including jazz piano, classical piano and Hawaiian slack-key guitar studies. This musical maturity sets his lyric stories perfectly in melodic and unique arrangements. David is a singer-songwriter at heart and follows the tradition of his most influential songwriters - John Prine, Townes Van Zandt, Randy Newman, Bob Dylan and contemporaries The Avett Brothers and John Fullbright.

In 2011 David formed Cincinnati's local, americana powerhouse Terminal Union with his musical partner Ian Mathieu. In 2013, after winning over local audiences they released their all-original album Making Arrangements to critical acclaim. The album was voted one of the year's strongest by local newspaper CityBeat. Following the release of Making Arrangements the band parted ways to pursue separate paths. Later in 2013 David, with Ben Knight, released a tribute to finger picking legend Merle Travis titled The Apple Hill Sessions. By the end of the year the David Faul band was formed and immediately caught local listeners ears. It's the chemistry and friendship between David and Ben Knight that have drawn comparisons to one of the most beloved acoustic duos of all time -  John Prine and Steve Goodman.    The band is currently in the process of finishing up their debut album of 13 original songs titled Walk This Road. The album is being recorded at Apple Hill Studio in Cincinnati, mix and mastered by Tommy Cappel at The All Nighter Studio and scheduled for release during winter, 2015. 

David Faul: guitar, piano, harmonica, vocals 
Ben Knight: guitar, banjo, vocals 
Elia Burkhart/Jonathan Doll: upright bass, vocals

Attending Maybe Not Attending View on Facebook