Show Details

Juanjo Mena Conducts The Leningrad

  • Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
  • Juanjo Mena
  • Javier Perianes

MOZART: Piano Concerto No. 21
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 7, Leningrad

Spanish conducting sensation Juanjo Mena, the recently appointed Principal Conductor of the May Festival, leads the Orchestra in Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 7, Leningrad. Written in 1941 in passionate response to oppression and censorship, it remains one of the composer’s most enduring and powerful works. Spanish pianist Javier Perianes performs Mozart’s sublime Piano Concerto No. 21—known as the Elvira Madigan, this majestic work will be familiar to audiences.