Show Details

Sir Andrew Davis Celebrates CSO's History

  • Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
  • Sir Andrew Davis
  • Garrick Ohlsson

BACH: Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme ("Sleepers Wake"), arr. Stokowski
BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 3
GOOSSENS: Symphony No. 2

The world-renowned conductor Sir Andrew Davis leads the CSO in a program that links luminaries from the CSO’s past. Beethoven’s stormy Piano Concerto No. 3, performed by the legendary Garrick Ohlsson, is book-ended by Bach’s sacred cantata chorale Sleepers Wake, arranged for orchestra by Leopold Stokowski, CSO Music Director from 1909-1912, and the visceral Symphony No. 2 by Eugene Goossens, CSO Music Director from 1931-1947.