Show Details

Paavo Järvi + Grieg's Piano Concerto

  • Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
  • Paavo Jarvi
  • Alice Sara Ott

HINDEMITH: Mathis der Maler ("Matthias the Painter")
GRIEG: Piano Concerto
SCHUMANN: Symphony No. 3, Rhenish

CSO Music Director Laureate Paavo Järvi returns to conduct Schumann’s expansive Third Symphony. Better known as the Rhenish, this romantic symphony paints Schumann’s impressions of Germany’s Rhineland. Hindemith’s Mathis der Maler, bravely written during the rise of Nazi Germany, glorifies artistic freedom of expression over oppression. Pianist Alice Sara Ott, full of “crystalline tone and prodigious range of color” (The Guardian), performs Grieg’s Piano Concerto, an audience favorite.