Show Details

One City, One Symphony: Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6

  • Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
  • Truls Mork

EMILY COOLEY: World Premiere
SHOSTAKOVICH:  Cello Concerto No. 1
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 6, Pathétique

In the face of injustice, music can be a tool to reclaim an artist’s voice. Without words, Tchaikovsky’s heartbreaking Pathétique Symphony expresses his inner turmoil, and Shostakovich’s work rebels against the oppression he faced. As part of our annual One City, One Symphony initiative, we welcome the inimitable Truls Mørk and feature a world premiere by composer Emily Cooley for an evening honoring the visionaries who use music to Speak Truth.