Moose Gronholm's Profile

  • Review

Album Review: Clockwork Radio - Josh Eagle & the Harvest City

Somewhere lost in a sea of thoughts and feelings I put on the latest Josh Eagle record and drifted off to some place only left in my dreams. It was comforting. The record was calming. The electricity eased my weary mind. The gravel in Josh’s throat was soothing. The album felt like a meditation. I’m no Buddhist, nor do I pretend to be one, but the listening experience of this felt something akin to a moment of Zen. My mind travelled to all kinds of places. The song “I’ll Be There for You” brought me out to the desert and its winds. "Hallow’s Eve" brought me to the fall and dropped me into some New York City neighborhood.

  • Review

Album Review: Out From Under – Erin Coburn

Erin Coburn has done it again. She dropped her third album late last year and I couldn’t wait to hear what this woman came up with next. Low and behold I was pleasantly surprised. Erin for a long time had toured and recorded with John Redell and Dixon Creasey, however on this album she departs from the power trio and brings forth something even more powerful.

  • Feature

A Not Top Ten List: Moose’s favorites from 2019

In the year that is set up to be over in a couple weeks, 2019, music saw a lot of great albums come out. So I will preface this by saying that I’m sure there are a few that I missed but really liked as well. The list below isn’t a top ten, I am not a fan of those, I think they are boring and overplayed. The list below is simply a compilation, if you will, of albums that I enjoyed from this year that has seemingly flown by. 

  • Review

Album Review: Freaks: Frontier Folk Nebraska

Frontier Folk Nebraska (FFN), are comprised of four guys. Four guys that bring a brand of rock n’ roll that is a hodge-podge of so many styles that they make it sound easy. FREAKS is their latest recorded album that came out on Black Friday, and before that I had the pleasure of listening to it early and often. 

  • Review

Review: OK, I Feel Better Now - Kelly Hoppenjans

Kelly Hoppenjans is currently residing in Nashville making her way in the vibrant music scene there. She has released her third album “Ok, I Feel Better Now” a sort of coming of age album with a hint of I’m doing this my way sprinkled in. Within the ten tracks she outlines what she sees as a human being walking this world, as well as, being a woman in the entertainment industry. 

  • Review

Review: Six Feet of Earth: Mike Oberst

It is the title track for me that truly encapsulates many feelings we have going on right now. “Six Feet of Earth” is a song that to sum it up simply means that in the end it does not matter how rich or how poor you are. As we are all the same under six feet of earth. 

  • Review
  • News

Album Review: The Raconteurs - Help Us Stranger

Separation only makes the heart grow fonder, or however that saying goes and these four dudes in forty-one minutes proved that.

  • Review

Moose’s 2018 Year in Review

The following is a list of musicians that for me did something really great this year. Listening to their albums or seeing them in person however the situation landed itself something about them moved me.

  • Preview

An Interview with Photographer Lisa Sullivan

"I love people. I have never met a stranger. I appreciate learning about people, helping people when I can and belonging to a community. I enjoy making people laugh, especially catching them off guard with a laugh, having a candid moment. I think that's why the photography plays a big part of who I am."

  • News

The Tillers: The Album

A band of brothers and a band that, in my opinion, is the epitome of do-it-yourself and one that personifies the punk rock that shaped them as humans and musician’s, they are The Tillers.

  • News

Erin Coburn: Queen of Nothing

Erin Coburn has been playing and writing songs since she was at least thirteen, and quite possibly even younger. Born in Bluegrass Country among the rolling hills of Kentucky it where that she found the blues, learned it, and is leaving her mark on it.

  • Review

Review: JD Wilkes & The Legendary Shack Shakers

The Legendary Shack Shakers with JD Wilkes have been around since 1996. Their raucous shows have made them truly legendary. The show is something one has to experience to truly understand. Anyone that has seen them, myself included, these guys stick with you. With JD as their front man he is every bit a show man, and true artist to form. The man did get his degree in art from Murray State, and he has certainly put it to use.