CincyMusic Podcasts
Buy the Cincinnati Support Local Music Tee



Contemporary Jazz Band


MODERNGROOVE Contemporary Jazz Band is comprised of seven of Cincinnati's finest and experienced jazz players: 

Jerry Linger - Guitar

Larry Tokarsky - Drums

Felipe Santiago - Bass

Blake Nagel - Piano and Keys

Steve Magus - Trumpet and Flugelhorn

Bob ‘Scoot’ Jacobs - Soprano, Alto, and Tenor Sax

Ed Alldred - Tenor Sax

Dan Glassmeyer - Tenor Sax (new)

MODERNGROOVE was conceived of, and formed, to bring its listening audience a menu of jazz which ranges from the classical jazz forms to a more "contemporary" sound often referred to as "smooth jazz."  However, names and labels only serve as a starting point because MODERNGROOVE puts its own stamp on all selections:  Their sound is informed by a little funk, superb soloing, and the 'blend' that only comes from such seasoned performers.

Sometimes soulful while at other times raucous, but at all times:  MODERNGROOVE is thoughtful of its audiences and the eclectic tastes in the larger jazz community.  Expect to hear unique arrangements, new 'twists' on select standards, and plenty of 'pocket' in all of the MODERNGROOVE renditions.

Attending Maybe Not Attending View on Facebook